IGARSS 2012 Opening Session and Plenary
July 23, 09:00 - 12:30, ICM, Room 1

Opening Session
09:00 Welcome to IGARSS 2012
Alberto Moreira and Yves-Louis Desnos - General Co-Chairs
09:10 Welcome from the Bavarian Government
Bavarian Minister of Economic Affairs, Infrastructure, Transport and Technology Martin Zeil
09:20 Welcome from IEEE GRS Society
Jón Atli Benediktsson, President
09:30 Welcome from IEEE
Peter W. Staecker, IEEE President-Elect 2012
09:40 Major Awards and Recognitions

Presented by Werner Wiesbeck

2012 IEEE Fellows
2012 IEEE GRSS Education Award
2012 IEEE GRSS Distinguished Achievement Award
2012 IEEE W.R.G. Baker Paper Award

Special Recognition on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of IEEE GRSS for:

Fawwaz Ulaby, Werner Wiesbeck and Wolfgang-Martin Boerner
Laudatio by Kamal Sarabandi

10:10 Break
Plenary Session
10:50 Remote Sensing for a Dynamic Earth
Johann-Dietrich Wörner, Chairman of the Executive Board of the German Aerospace Center (DLR)
11:20 The European Earth Observation Program
Volker Liebig, Director of Earth Observation Programmes, European Space Agency (ESA)
11:50 Recent Progress and Future Opportunities in Earth Observations
Ghassem Asrar, Director of the World Climate Research Programme
Symposium Introduction
12:20 IGARSS 2012 Technical Program
Irena Hajnsek and Helmut Rott, Technical Program Co-Chairs
12:25 Closing remarks
Alberto Moreira and Yves-Louis Desnos, General Co-Chairs
12:30 Lunch